Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
BMF Past Presidents
Share |

Mr. Bonang Mohale - President (2012 -2015)

Bonang is currently the CHAIRMAN of Shell South Africa (Pty) Limited, where he is Chairman of the boards of Shell South Africa Holdings (Pty) Ltd; Shell Downstream South Africa (Pty) Ltd; Shell South Africa Refinery (Pty) Ltd and South African Petroleum Refinery (SAPREF). He has country responsibilities for the Oil, Chemical, Aviation, Marine and Lubricants global businesses and is operationally accountable for the Retail; Fuels & Bitumen; Supply & Distribution classes of businesses as well as Finance; Legal; HR; Safety (HSSE) and Transformation classes of functions.

Until 31 December 2008, he spent 6 years as the CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER of Drake & Scull FM SA (PTY) Ltd, an integrated Facilities Management company owned by the Tsebo Outsourcing Group, where Bonang was also a member of the Executive Committee (Exco).

Until May 2003, he was CHIEF EXECUTIVE: SHARED SERVICES AND ASSOCIATED COMPANIES of Sanlam; a member of the Exco; alternate director of the Sanlam Limited main board; chairman of the board of TASC; a director of Innofin; Gensec Property Services and Fundamo. Until 2002, he was the CHIEF EXECUTIVE: Corporate Marketing, Sanlam.

Until August 2001, he was the EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT at South African Airways (SAA) responsible for Strategic Alliances, Network Management and Global Sales. The revenue generated by this business unit was in excess of R8 billion of which more than R5 billion was generated outside of South Africa. The staff complement was more than 800 with nine direct reports.



Jimmy Manyi - Past President (2006-2012)

Jimmy Manyi CM (SA), a Harvard Alumnus is a Chartered Marketer with Economic Geology background and has well over 20 corporate experience including about 10 years as an executive. He has both Line function and support services experience spanning across key sectors of the Economy in multinationals and blue chip companies, i.e. mining in the Anglo American Group where he spent about 10 years in both exploration and Mining Geology.

In Auto Sector he worked for Toyota SA; in financial sector he worked for Nedcor Group and Barclay Bank plc; in the ICT sector he worked for IBM; in the FMCG sector he worked for Tiger brands.

Over the years Jimmy has served on various boards and in leadership roles, including, Peoples bank, Computershare, BMF Investments, Black Management Forum, Black Business Council, Business Unity South Africa, Brand SA, Media Development and Diversity Agency and he also served as Chairman of the Commission for Employment Equity.

Jimmy has also done his national duty serving in the public service as Director General for 3 years, where he gained invaluable experience in government communication, policy formulation, and designing regulations that impact the country as a whole. He also served as Cabinet Spokesperson and finished his tenure with praises from his Minister on behalf of Government, the Cabinet and President of the RSA.

Nolitha Fakude - Past President (2004-2006)

Ms Nolitha Fakude is the Executive Director at Sasol responsible for Group Strategy
and Human Resources. She sits on the Boards of BMF Investment Company, Harmony Gold Mines,
Woolworths Holdings as well as WHEAT(Women Hope for Education and
Training) Trust. Nolitha is a Council member of BUSA and NEPAD Steering Committee.
She was named as one of 20 most influential Businesswomen for 2004 by
Financial Mail

Mr. Bheki Sibiya (1999-2003)

Mr Bheki Sibiya headed the BMF after Lot Ndlovu between 1999 and 2003. He was Executive Director of Transnet and also chaired South African Airways, Air Chefs and Apron services Boards. He has climbed the ladder within BMF from ordinary member to the Presidency of this great organisation. His main contributions were around the issues of business and community.

Mr. Lot Ndlovu (1995-1999)

Vice-Chairman of the Nedbank Group. Previously he was CEO of Peoples Bank
Ndlovu is a doyen of the black empowerment movement in SA. He was president of both the Black Management Forum (BMF) and the Black Business Council. The Black Economic Empowerment Commission was initiated by the BMF under his presidency.

Ndlovu studied business management at Unisa, Wits, North Western University (US) and Harvard Business School. He holds an honorary doctorate from Pretoria Technikon (now Tshwane Institute of Technology

Professor Wiseman Nkuhlu (1991-1995)

Professor Wiseman Nkuhlu was president from 1991-1995. A chartered accountant that led the BMF during a critical period in South Africa's history, when the political environment was undergoing revolutionary change. Nkuhlu was a university principal and lecturer, and has headed various development and economic fora

Mr. Don Mkhwanazi (1986-1991)

Mr. Don Mkhwanazi was the president of the BMF from 1987-1991. He is a management development commentator and leading exponent of black economic empowerment. It was during Mkhwanazi's term in office that BMF started reaching out to all key players outside the business domain, including the banned ANC and PAC and the union federations

Mr. George Negota (1984-1986)

Mr. George Negota took over the reigns of BMF from 1984-1986. He has become a keen black business Development Corporation and proprietor of a business development consultancy. Between 1990 and 1991, Negota was a director of the ANC's Department of Manpower Development

Mr. Don Ncube (1982-1984)

Mr. Don Ncube held a managerial position at Anglo-American at the time of his BMF presidency in 1982-1984, becoming group Industrial Relations Consultant in 1990

Mr. Martin Sebesho (1981-1982)

Martin Sebesho is also one of the BMF's founding fathers. An active policy-maker in human resources development. He led debates about emerging policies on black empowerment. He previously held managerial positions at, among others, Union Carbide and Comad


Mr. Eric Mafuna (1977-1981)

A former student activist, Mafuna's involvement with the BMF preceded its launch. He was one of the founding members who campaigned for the establishment of the organisation in the 1970s, at a time when he was employed as a Director of Research and Planning at J Walter Thomson. He was re-elected as President in 1985

Annual Report

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Annual Report 2015 PDF (3.29 MB)  more ] Administration 2015/10/14

Memorandum of Incorporation

More InfoHide Info ]
Changed the Articles of Association to MOI
Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Memorandum of Incorporation July 2015 PDF (1.63 MB)  more ] Administration 2015/08/03
Code of Conduct PDF (347.38 KB)  more ] Administration 2015/08/03